Welcome to PlagueFest.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the Plague Fest community.
  1. Welcome Guest! to interact with the community and gain access to all the site's features.

Garry's Mod Zombie Escape

Discussion in CS:S Zombie Escape started by samm, May 18, 2013

1. Jan 30, 2013
    Hello, I'm a developer for various Garry's Mod projects, one of which is a Zombie Escape gamemode. If you're not familiar with Garry's Mod, it's a sandbox Source Engine game. Developers can pretty much build whatever they want using Lua scripts. This include weapons, gamemodes, effects, entities, and any other addon. Here are a few examples of what can be created with Garry's Mod:
    I have a feeling some people may not know that Garry's Mod is more than just a building game, so I felt it was necessary to go into more detail.

Anyway, the reason I'm posting on the Plague Fest forums is because I need your help. The Garry's Mod community isn't familiar with Zombie Escape, and I'd like to change that. I'll be adding the gamemode to the Garry's Mod Steam workshop soon, but it needs to be play tested by players who know what they're doing. I'd like to create a future event with the Plague Fest community (and anyone else who's interested) to play test my gamemode and give feedback.

The Zombie Escape gamemode I've created for Garry's Mod is similar to how it is in CS:S (and the Zombie Reloaded plug-in), but different in unique ways. Here are a few features I'd like to highlight:
    • Map messages displayed on the HUD (instead of in the chat)
    • Zombie damage display
    • Boss healthbar support
    • Anti-bunnyhop by default
    • Nearby friendly players see-through (for easier sight)
    • Zombie arms
    And here are a few images:
    [IMG]
    Boss healthbar; glow around boss also represents health (green to red); map messages on HUD

[IMG]
    Zombie arms

[IMG]
    See-through friendly player, Zombie damage, alien model for Zombies