Welcome to PlagueFest.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the Plague Fest community.
  1. Welcome Guest! to interact with the community and gain access to all the site's features.

How do you make a solid ZM map?|||How do you make custom textures?

Discussion in Mapping Discussion started by Bleach and Tide Pods, Feb 28, 2018

1. Feb 27, 2018
    • Hello everyone willing to help out. I have been playing CS:S since 2005 and using Hammer for about a week now. I know how to make needs such as spawns, buy-zone, buildings/brush, teleports, static props, sky-box, and displacements (haven't had first-hand experience yet) thanks to YouTube. I didn't learn lighting (peeked my head in the door for it) or anything else from YouTube because I didn't think I would need to learn about lighting or anything else till I finish making buildings/brush, static props and teleports.
    • I have been trying to get my own texture for the last THREE DAYS STRAIGHT! I listened to everyone on here and YouTube. Everyone says use VTFEdit to make the picture you want a valve material file with the correct resolutions the source engine can accept 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, 2048 or 4096 pixels. Then, make a new folder in the material folder of CS:S and put the Valve Material you just switched from a picture into the new folder. Next, make a txt. file so the valve material file can register what sound to use in-game like this. "$basetexture" "file_directory_of_texture_name/texture_name" "$surfaceprop" "wood". It is blank when I place the texture on brush and it's like there is a No Draw but it's blank when I apply it. I see the thumbnail of the texture file in the search portal looking for a texture to apply, which is weird. I went into a version of Photoshop to try and get rid of transparency thinking that transparency was the problem, it is still blank on brushes. I also downloaded the 30-day trial of Filter Forge 7 trying to make it work, no go... What did I do wrong?