Welcome to PlagueFest.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the Plague Fest community.
  1. Welcome Guest! to interact with the community and gain access to all the site's features.

Laptop won't turn back on

Discussion in Hardware Hangout started by Zenzr, Dec 26, 2013

1. Jul 8, 2012
    So the title is exactly it. I was updating steam games when all the sudden my laptop won't turn back on. I work in IT so naturally I took it to my boss to look at. We took out the battery, HDD, and ram and nothing seems to work. Even took out the CD drive. It turns on for about a second or two, then shuts off. It did run quite hot as far as laptops go, but It never seemed to bother it.

Does anyone have ideas?
    Zenzr, Dec 26, 2013 Last edited by Zenzr, Dec 26, 2013
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    my best guess is u killed your laptop, you over loaded the cpu (maybe) and have short circuited some of the components

the only to see any kid of short circuting is by opening and dissassembling the laptop which will be a pain

my next advice is to let it cool down, take out the battery and wait till it feels cool then put it back in and see if anything changes

also heres my reaction "whyy diid u kill lappy :weep:" [IMG]
  3. Aug 2, 2010
  4. Jul 8, 2012
    I'm thinking so. Well may look like a new computer is closer in my future than I thought.

@Brett I know you really don't like laptops, but any ideas?
  5. Feb 27, 2012
    I agree with rxn, sounds like a fried mobo. I know that is also a symptom of a dying PSU on a desktop as well, idk about laptops, doubt it though.
  6. Jul 8, 2012
    I guess 2 1/2 years isn't that bad of a life span for laptops lol.
  7. Nov 11, 2011