Welcome to PlagueFest.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the Plague Fest community.
  1. Welcome Guest! to interact with the community and gain access to all the site's features.

What is the purpose of Linux?

Discussion in Software Sanctuary started by Brett, Mar 25, 2013

1. Dec 6, 2011
    What's the purpose of Linux? Zenzr's thread kind of sparked my memory that I was wondering why people used it. What are the advantages of it over Windows? Why use it (Pros and Cons)? Or is Linux equal to Windows, but just a different approach to an OS?

EDIT: I'm quite unfamiliar with anything Linux. Are there different versions of it, or how does it work?
  2. Jul 8, 2012
    My main reason is I work as a Help Desk Technician, and this year I've gotten a few people in with Linux, and I had no idea how to help them as I've never used Linux before. I mainly just want to learn about it. From what I've understood so far (I think) some of the main pros are it's cheaper than both Windows and Mac OS, it generally takes far less resources to run (so people install it on older machines to keep them alive) and more customization (If you know what you're doing I think). Also I just want to learn how to use it, as I'm taking C++ classes so anything programming related is interesting to me.
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    It's open source (and free). You can create your own 'version' of linux and call it BrettOS v1.0. You can mix and match packages. You can't really sell it, although there are ways... but I'm not getting into that. There is a lot of flexibility in using both Linux and Windows personally for me. To your questions, you can pretty much have extremely low down time with linux since most tasks don't require restarting your system, there are different OS's that are linux based. Examples include: Slackware, Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora Core, etc. They all are unique in their own sense but their foundation is nix.
  4. Dec 6, 2011