Welcome to PlagueFest.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the Plague Fest community.
  1. Welcome Guest! to interact with the community and gain access to all the site's features.

Where to start

Discussion in Programming started by Merlin, Oct 20, 2014

1. Oct 10, 2014
    So i was thinking about trying to learn the art of programming, however as I have no experience in this area, would someone be kind enough to recommend a good starting point. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.
  2. Jul 8, 2012
    Do you have any language(s) you want to learn? That usually helps some with where to start. I started with C++, but you could do that or Java or something maybe.

Here is a pretty good intro site to C++, and some other useful information. You can also ask @Luffaren or @Benderius too if you have questions.
    • Like Like x 2
    • Oct 10, 2014
      I will be sure to check out the link when I get home, but c++ does seem to be a good direction to head from what I've read.
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Winner Winner x 1
      • Jun 11, 2012
        If you fancy a little tiny challenge then C++ is a great way language to start with. As posted http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/introduction/ is the best tutorial for C++ programming. I highly suggest/recommended/demand to go through each page and test it out. They are well written to explain the basic and complex stuff fairly well.

Get the Eclipse CDT IDE which is the most friendliest IDE you can start with (but it is a bit overwhelming at the same time). Codeblock is the lightest and fastest if you have a tiny patience in setting thing up....actually see if you can compile anything with Codeblock+Mingw.

Also PATIENCE I can't stress that out.