Welcome to PlagueFest.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the Plague Fest community.
  1. Welcome Guest! to interact with the community and gain access to all the site's features.

zm_l4d_hospital

Discussion in Work in Progress (WIP) started by GRUDGE, Mar 9, 2012

1. Jul 28, 2011
    Don't worry, I am still working on updating zm_no_mercy as well (thanks to michelle for some sick new choppas!), but here is something I've been working on too for about a week now:

[IMG]
    [IMG]
    [IMG]
    [IMG]

This is what I'm basically doing:
    Decompiling l4d2 map (no mercy hospital interior level), extracting whatever textures, overlays, and models I can, editing it a ton, removing everything that made it crash in css, and making it playable for zm. While doing this doesn't take nearly as long as making an original map from scratch, I ran into a lot of errors because I'm a total noob :razz:

I don't think the file size will end up being too large, because most of the models either didn't extract properly (I fail at porting lol) or I just deleted them. Also, I am replacing many l4d textures with standard HL2 ones and this will greatly reduce the file size. The pink checkers you see in the screen shots are textures that didn't extract from the vpks correctly, so I will have to fix or change them. This map should have plenty of good cading spots :drool:

To do list:
    • Color correction
    • Add more cading props
    • Fix some models / textures
    • Add more spawns
    • Improve lighting
    • Mapping King Mapping King x 8
    • Like Like x 1
    • Wizard! Wizard! x 1
    • Feb 11, 2012
      Nice map coming :thumbsup: i guess it will have alot cadespots?
    • Feb 1, 2011
      Wow. I never played L4D (shame on me) except for maybe once or twice with a friend. The custom textures look AMAZING! So cool too see something that isnt the same palette as office/lila panic/dust, etc. As always, you are the MAN and I can't wait to play it!!